top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturemadebykaate

Dollar Store DIY: Garden Signs

Back at it again with another dollar store DIY. This time, the project was inspired by my new favourite hangout, my garden.


I knew I wanted to put signs next to the veggies (as if the plants themselves wouldn't provide sufficient evidence for identification). I was struggling to find any online or in stores that I loved, so I decided to break out the craft supplies and DIY.


What you will need:

  • Wood Planks

  • Jumbo Craft Sticks

  • Stain or paint

  • Paint brush

  • Hot glue gun

  • Stickers or stencils

  • Sealant



Step One: Staining the wood

You can by-pass this step if you are satisfied with the colour of the store bought plank, but I wanted a darker shade. I used SICO exterior wood stain in the shade Walnut Brown. I painted 12 planks, and 12 of the craft sticks, and then let that dry over night




Step 2: Name Tags

I have a Cricut, so I decided to use that for my stickers. I went online to spacefont.com to find my font. Once I had it set, I created name tags for all 12 of my plants. I then uploaded all the images to Cricut Design Space, and sized them out. The planks were approximately 3" tall, so I went with 1.5" for my name tag. I used permanent vinyl on my mat, and loaded that into the Cricut. Once I had the stickers cut and weeded, I used transfer tape to get them onto my planks.


An alternative would be to buy letter stickers, and apply them directly onto the planks. Another idea would be to use stencils and paint.




Step 3: The Assembly

This is the easy step, simply use the glue gun to adhere the craft stick to the wood plank (on the back side, of course).




The last and final step is sealing your project. I used RUST-OLEUM Painters Touch, Ultra-Cover, Semi-Gloss clear seal. I let that sit for another 24hrs, and then the project was complete




The signs are now in my garden and they are perfect. Such a cute and inexpensive way to add a personal touch to your garden space.





As my plants begin to grow, I will be sure to update you along the way. Stay tuned for the garden tour.


Till next time,

Kate

29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Σχόλια


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page