top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturemadebykaate

Dollar Store DIY: Gift Bag Wall Art

With Christmas right around the corner I thought it would be a good time to post another quick and easy DIY. This photo frame took less than an hour and turned out great. I made one for Ryan and he couldn't believe that I made it myself.




What you will need for this project:

  • art canvas

  • staple remover

  • gel stain & scrap fabric

  • gift bag

  • mod podge


The first thing you will need to do is remove the canvas from the frame. I started to use a staple remover for this step but ran into some difficulty. The staples were in there a little tighter than I had anticipated. Near the end, I gave up on removing the staple and I just ripped the canvas off of the back. I wasn't too worried about the look on the back because I knew it would be against the wall.



Once the canvas is off you will be left with a nice solid frame. The next step is to cut your gift bag to size. I took a coloured pencil and traced the bag along the edges, so that I had a guideline to cut. Once the bag was cut I set it aside so that I could finish the frame.




For the frame I chose to stain it a darker shade. You could also just paint it a solid colour, or even leave it as is. The stain I used was in the shade brown mahogoney by General Finishes. This is my favourite stain and has been used on many many projects around the house. I used one of my cloths to apply the stain, and another to wipe it off. Once I was happy with it I left it to let it dry. When the stain was dry, I added a layer of Mod Podge to seal it in.



The final step was to attach the bag to the frame. For this step I used a border of hot glue. I moved really quickly for this step so that the border would stick to the wood while it was still hot, but you can take your time and glue one side at a time.



And there you have it! Such a quick and easy dollar store DIY. What I love about this gift is that your options on the print are endless. The dollar store has been killing the gift bag game, especially during the holidays. Next time you see a print that you love, try transforming it into an art piece instead of wrapping a gift with it.


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page