top of page
Search
  • madebykaate

Mason Jar Christmas Centrepiece

Updated: Jan 23, 2021

Mason jars are one of my absolute favourite craft mediums for holiday and seasonal decor. They are so affordable and versatile, and you can find them in any dollar store, craft store or even your kitchen pantry. You can create such simple, festive DIY Christmas mason jar decor in a single afternoon. With a few coats of paint and some Christmas flair, you're ready for the holidays.




First up, we have this mason jar Christmas centrepiece.


The supplies you'll need for this project are:

  • 3 mason jars (can be any size but I went with 2x smaller, and one slightly larger)

  • painter's tape

  • white paint

  • paint brush

  • twine or ribbon

  • fake foliage (I got mine at Dollarama for $1.25 each)



The first thing you will do is tape off the section of the mason jars that you want to paint. I simply laid the painters tape down in a straight line around the middle point of the jar. Once your jars have been taped off you will go in with your paint brush and start painting the bottom section. I was using acrylic paint, and wanted a more white-wash minimalist look, so I applied 2 coats. For a more opaque look you may use chalk paint, or apply an extra layer.



Once your paint has dried you may remove the painters tape. You should have nice flat even lines across all 3 jars. I chose to use this red and white jute I found at IKEA. I believe it's intended use is for wrapping presents, but hey, who cares. I wanted a simplistic look so I opted to only put the string on the middle jar. I wrapped it around about 3 times and then tied it off with a bow.



The last step is easy, take the fake foliage and place it in the jar. You can go as heavy, or as light with this as you want. I have seen people add multiple branches in one jar to give it a more full effect, but I chose to go with the simple style.



From start to finish this project took me about a half hour (or one episode of Merry Happy Whatever, my current Netlflix find). I am very happy with the way this turned out. You can go any direction with a craft like this, changing the foliage, the base colour, the size of jar, the string... the options are endless.


As the weather gets colder, I know we'll be eating a lot of pasta sauce, and I am going to be sure to save every jar. Stay tuned to see what I'll come up with next.



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page