top of page
Search
  • madebykaate

Wood Slice Picture Ornament




There's nothing like giving something to someone that's been handmade. While it's not always going to be super fancy or perfectly constructed, it's always unique and one-of-a-kind.


This year, I decided to try my hand at crafting ornaments. First up, the wood slice picture ornament.


We are going to me Mod Podging pictures onto wood slices.


The supplies you'll need for this project are:

  • Wood slices (I love working with them, so you'll be seeing several crafts using them in the coming months)

  • Printed photos

  • Scissors

  • Pen or Sharpie

  • Mod Podge

  • Twine (or string) of your choice



My dad helped me out by slicing up a bunch of firewood, but you can get these from craft stores or Amazon. We used a small drill bit to put a hole in near the top of the ornament, so that we can thread it later.Since every wood slice is going to be a different shape, I put the wood slice on top of the photo I wanted to use, and traced it with a pen. These photos were taken in quarantine with the help of self-timer and a tripod (just 2020 things, am i right?)


I cut the photo out making sure to cut slightly inside the traced line so that there would be a nice wood border around to frame it.



I brushed a layer of Mod Podge onto the wood slice first, positioned the photo in the right place, and then brushed a coat of Mod Podge over the top of the photo. Make sure you cover the edges well so that the photo doesn't curl up on you.


To hang the ornament, I threaded twine through the hole at the top, and then tied a hole to make a loop. If you do not have access to a drill, you may chose to hot glue some twine or an ornament hook on the backside to hang.



There you have it, DIY Christmas Ornament's. Handmade, personal, and from the heart. This would make a perfect gift for parents, grandparents, or any other loved one.

10,265 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page